Alice In Chains “Dirt” 30th Anniversary Release

I was waiting for this news for over a year, and i’m so glad the day has finally arrived. Alice in Chains second album Dirt is a heavy hitter, and it’s one of my favorite albums. For some reason, this album was hard to come by and if you found a copy it was astronomically high. Upon my research to find a copy, there was only ever one official re-release in 2009 on vinyl and it was coveted by music lovers like myself. Dirt was long overdue for a second re-release on all platforms and I was eagerly anticipating the albums 30th anniversary for that to happen.

I may be just ever so slightly late to this news, seeing as some of the things for this 30th anniversary release have already sold out. But I managed to get my hands on a preorder of the standard black vinyl. So, if you’re a big Alice In Chains fan and you’ve been waiting for this day to arrive so you can stock up on your favorite Dirt related items, then check out the list of things below that their website has in store.

  • Dirt Limited Edition Deluxe Box Set [$275] [Still In Stock!]- while this might be a hefty price tag it seems like you get a good amount of items for your dollar. In this deluxe box set you’ll be getting a “custom sculpted Dirt girl” (the girl on the cover) vinyl topper and magnet, the album on Orange 2LP colored vinyl, the album on CD, five 7″ singles (Them Bones, Angry Chair, Would?, Rooster, Down in a Hole), 80 page hardcover book, exclusive Dirt inspired art prints, double sided fold out poster, 8×10 glossy band photo, 4 reprinted show posters, reprinted setlist, and a Dirt tour laminate.
  • Dirt Exclusive Black Double LP Vinyl [$32.98] [Still In Stock!]
  • Dirt Exclusive Orange Double LP Vinyl [SOLD OUT]
  • Funko Pop! Albums: Dirt [$59.99] [Still In Stock!] – I’ve never seen something like this before so I honestly can’t say if this is worth the price. It seems to me that this is a Funko Pop version of the album with the band members Funko Pop-ified. And it comes with a stand so you can hang it on the wall or leave it sitting on a shelf.
  • Dirt CD [12.99] [Still In Stock!]

Those are the main items you can buy, aside from two shirts and one bucket hat they also has as part of this collection. But as a whole, that’s all she wrote for the 30th Anniversary Dirt album. Because I didn’t already have this album on vinyl because of the reasons I mentioned at the beginning, this was worth it for me to buy. This album was remastered on both CD and Vinyl, and it was long overdue for that to happen.

As a whole, compared to other anniversary releases for albums in recent times (such as Nirvana’s Nevermind, and Alice In Chains Facelift) I think this seems a tad underwhelming. They could have maybe done more. Maybe given us a few other colored vinyl options instead of just orange and standard black. I would have like to see maybe a red/orange/black splatter vinyl. Or some variations of that. Nothing wrong with standard black vinyl, but when I can get my hands on an exclusive colored option thats what I tend to go for. And they maybe could have given us one one or two exclusive vinyl packages. For example, the orange vinyl with a poster, the cd, and a shirt. Something like that.

But regardless, this is what we have to work with. I’m so excited to be getting my copy of the vinyl when it ships out around October. So, if you’ve been wanting to get your hands on this album then go check out their website now while supplies last!

Leave a comment